News

West Somerset Railway and the D&EPG announce Heritage Diesel Locomotive Hauled Trains for Summer 2017 Published: 16th March 2017

The West Somerset Railway and the Diesel Electric Presentation Group are pleased to announce they have agreed to operate an additional eleven heritage diesel hydraulic locomotive hauled trains, during the 2017 season. These trains will run under the brand name of “MAYBACH MEMORIES” in recognition that the last British Railways Western Region Maybach powered diesel hydraulic locomotives ran in 1977.

 

These eleven trains are additional to those shown in the West Somerset Railway 2017 public timetable leaflet and will run on the following dates:

Saturday 6th May     

Sunday 7th May

Sunday 14th May

Saturday 20th May

Sunday 25th June

 Sunday 9th July

Saturday 22nd July    

Sunday 23rd July

Saturday 23rd September     

Sunday 24th September

Saturday 30th September

 

The planned 80 mile service day for each of our “MAYBACH MEMORIES” services will start the day at Bishops Lydeard at 11:50 hrs.

 

To haul these “MAYBACH MEMORIES” trains the diesel and Electric Preservation Group plan to use either their

  • Class 35 “Hymek”  N D7017
  • Class 52 “Western” N D1010 “Western Campaigner”

At this time we are unable to identify which locomotive by number will work which train. However by the end of March we will follow this initial press release up with a second,  providing working timetables and provisional locomotive allocations to services so you can decide which days you will venture west to support this new joint venture full ticket arrangements and other details will also be provided by the end of March 2017.