Washford Station is on the extension of the railway from Watchet to Minehead, opened in 1874, and is a neat, stone-built station with a single platform, different in style from the buildings of the earlier line. Unlike some of the other stations, it is well-placed for the village it serves. Opposite the platform was a goods yard and goods shed. These were removed in the 1960s and the present buildings on the site were for many years occupied by the Somerset & Dorset Railway Trust, who also had a small museum in the station building.
Cleeve Abbey: A few minutes walk from the station brings you to Cleeve Abbey, a beautiful Cisterian Abbey, in the care of English Heritage and open throughout the summer. Closing times may vary - click here for further details. The Abbey offers families a great chance to explore the history of the monks who lived at the Abbey with a fun story pack as well as providing visitors with the opportunity to wander around the grounds and Abbey buildings which remain at this peaceful site.
Although the main abbey church is no more, the remaining outbuildings give a fascinating insight into monastic life. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing and encourages visitors to linger. Further on from the abbey is Torre cider farm where you can learn how Somerset cider is made and even sample some of the produce. There are also several pubs including the Washford Inn at the end of the Station ramp and The White Horse, near the abbey, which serve food.
Washford Station is the first station on the ‘extension’ from Watchet to Minehead and is different in style from the buildings of the earlier line. The station opened in 1874 and unlike some of the other stations on the line is in the village it serves. The Station is painted in Southern Region colours setting it apart from the other stations, painted in the colours of the Great Western Railway and its successor the Western Region of British Railways. The small wooden building next to the main building is the original signalbox which contains a set of levers. Although the ‘Midford’ exhibit has been designed to represent an ex-S&DJR location, the lever-frame is in fact a part of one from the former signal-box at Woolston (near Southampton).